Partners

Below is a list of the primary contacts for each of our partners. The technical representatives, those who represent their respective agency/partners in the NAC-CESU, are listed on the left. Administrative representatives, those who primarily deal with cooperative agreements and any modifications to them, are listed on the right.

Federal Agency Partners: Bureau of Indian Affairs; Bureau of Ocean Energy Management, Regulation and Enforcement; Fish and Wildlife Service; National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration; National Park Service; Natural Resources Conservation Service; Office of the Deputy Under Secretary of Defense (Installations and Environment); U.S. Army Corps of Engineers; U.S. Geological Survey.

Tribal Partner: Narragansett Indian Tribal Historic Preservation Office (NITHPO) on behalf of the Narragansett Indian Tribe

Partner Institutions:: University of Rhode Island (host); Bates College; Biodiversity Research Institute; Center for Coastal Studies; City University of New York; College of the Atlantic; Columbia University; Cornell University; Coastal Bays Program; Harvard University; Manhattan College; Marine Biological Laboratory; Maryland Coastal Bays Program; Narragansett Indian Tribal Historic Preservation Office; Northeastern University; Rutgers University; Schoodic Education and Research Center Institute; Stony Brook University; SUNY, College of Environmental Science and Forestry; University of Maine, Orono; University of Maryland, Eastern Shore; University of Massachusetts, Amherst; University of Massachusetts, Boston; University of New England.

For information on partner university areas of expertise, click here


Federal Agency Partners

Technical Representatives Administrative Contacts
Bureau of Indian Affairs

Rachael Novak
BIA Climate Science Coordinator
Bureau of Indian Affairs
1849 C Street, NW

Washington, DC 20240
Phone: 202-219-1652
rachael.novak@bia.gov

 

Bureau of Ocean Energy Management

Mary C. Boatman, Ph.D.
Environmental Studies Chief
US Department of the Interior
Bureau of Ocean Energy Management
Office of Renewable Energy Programs
Environment Review Branch for Renewable Energy
381 Elden Street, HM 1328
Herndon, VA 20170
Phone: 703-787-1662
Fax: 703-787-1708
mary.boatman@boem.gov

 

Jennifer Ewald
Physical Oceanographer
Bureau of Ocean Energy Management
Division of Environmental Sciences
Environmental Studies Program
381 Elden Street, Mail Stop 4041
Herndon, VA 20170
Phone: 703-787-1608
Fax: 703-787-1053
Jennifer.Ewald@boem.gov
 
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration

Jon Hare
Science & Research Director
NOAA Northeast Fisheries Science Center
166 Water Street
Woods Hole, MA 02543-1026
Phone: (508) 495-2000
Cell: (774) 392-3113
john.hare@noaa.gov

 
National Park Service

Bill Thompson
CESU Coordinator
NPS Northeast Region
University of Rhode Island, Coastal Institute, Kingston
1 Greenhouse Rd
Kingston, RI 02881
Phone: 401-874-9504
Fax: 401-874-4561
bill_thompson@nps.gov

Keith Zotti
Partnership Program Specialist
National Park Service, Northeast Region
200 Chestnut St.
Philadelphia, PA 19106
Phone: 215-597-9153
Fax: 215-597-6900
keith_zotti@nps.gov

Natural Resources Conservation Service

Doris Washington
US Department of Agriculture
CESU/COE Coordinator
USDA-NRCS-NWMC
101 East Capitol Avenue, Suite B-100
Washington, DC 20003
Phone: 501 210-8910
doris.washington@ar.usda.gov

 

Office of the Assistant Secretary of Defense (Energy, Installations and Environment)

Kathy Mitchell
Kathy.S.Mitchell@usace.army.mil

Lucas Walsh
Omaha District CESU
USACE, Omaha District
Section Chief, Environmental Remediation Branch
1616 Capitol Ave
Omaha, NE 68102-4901
Phone: (402) 995-2750
Fax: (402) 995-2814
Lucas.v.walsh@usace.army.mil

Alison Dalsimer
Program Manager, DoD Natural Resources
OASD (EI&E)
Natural Resources Program, Box 56
4800 Mark Center Drive, Suite 16G14
Alexandria, VA 22350
Phone: (571) 372-6893
allyn.a.dalsimer.civ@mail.mil

Stephanie Rostermundt
Omaha District CESU
USACE, Omaha District
Contracting Officer
1616 Capitol Ave
Omaha, NE 68102-4901
Phone: (402) 995-2083
Fax: (402) 221-4530
Stephanie.a.rostermundt@usace.army.mil

Raymond Rainbolt
North Atlantic Coast CESU DoD Regional Representative
Raymond.E.Rainbolt.civ@mail.mil

 

US Army Corps of Engineers

Alfred Cofrancesco
Technical Director, Environmental Engineering and Sciences, ERDC
US Army Corps of Engineers
Technical Director
Environmental Engineering and Sciences
CEERD-EM-W
3909 Halls Ferry Road
Vicksburg, MS 39180
Phone: 601-634-3184
Al.F.Cofrancesco@usace.army.mil

Sherry Whitaker
CESU Grants Officer Technical Representative
U.S. Army Engineering Research and Development Center
3909 Halls Ferry Road
Vicksburg, MS 39180
Phone: (601) 634-2990
sherry.l.whitaker@usace.army.mil

US Fish and Wildlife Service

Susan C. Adamowicz
Biologist, Region 5
Rachel Carson National Wildlife Refuge
321 Port Rd.
Wells, ME 04090
Phone: 207-646-9226 x 31
Fax: 207-646-1888
susan_adamowicz@fws.gov

Gary Dupuis
Contract Specialist
300 Westgate Center Drive
Hadley, MA 01035
Phone: 413-253-8240
Fax: 413-253-8450
gary_dupuis@fws.gov

Ward Feurt
Refuge Manager
Rachel Carson National Wildlife Refuge
321 Port Rd.
Wells, ME 04090
Phone: 207-646-9226
Fax: 207-646-1888
ward_feurt@fws.gov
 
US Geological Survey

Howard Ginsberg
Ecologist, USGS Patuxent Wildlife Research Center
USGS Patuxent Wildlife Research Center Coastal Field Unit
Woodward Hall PLS
Kingston, RI 02881
Phone: 401- 874-4537
hginsberg@usgs.gov

 

Tribal Partner

Technical Representatives Administrative Contacts
Narragansett Indian Tribal Historic Preservation Office (NITHPO) on behalf of the Narragansett Indian Tribe

Doug Harris
Deputy Tribal Historic Preservation Officer/Preservationist for Ceremonial Landscapes
PO Box 700

Wyoming, RI 02898
Phone: 401-539-1190
Fax: 401-539-4217
dhnithpo@gmail.com

 

Partner Institutions

Technical Representatives Administrative Contacts
University of Rhode Island (Host University)

Judith Swift
Director, Coastal Institute
124 Coastal Institute
URI Bay Campus
Narragansett, RI 02882
Phone: (401) 874-6513
Fax: (401) 874-6869
jswift@uri.edu

Winifred C. Nwangwu
Director, Sponsored Projects
Research & Economic Development
70 Lower College Road
Kingston, RI 02881
Phone: (401) 874-2775
Fax: (401) 874-4272
winny@mail.uri.edu

Bates College

 

Joseph Tomaras
Director, Sponsored Programs and Research Compliance
Bates College
Coram 222
Lewiston, ME 04240
Phone: 207-786-6243
jtomaras@bates.edu

 

Joseph Tomaras
Director, Sponsored Programs and Research Compliance
Bates College
Coram 222
Lewiston, ME 04240
Phone: 207-786-6243
jtomaras@bates.edu

Biodiversity Research Institute

David Evers, PhD 
Executive Director
Biodiversity Research Institute
276 Canco Road
Portland, ME 04103
Phone: (207) 839-7600 ext. 221
david.evers@briloon.org
www.briloon.org

Sharon Oehmig
Billing and Budget Manager
Biodiversity Research Institute
276 Canco Road
Portland, ME 04103
Phone: (207) 839-7600 ext. 237
lori.davis@briloon.org

Lori Davis 
Finance Director
Biodiversity Research Institute
276 Canco Road
Portland, ME 04103
Phone: (207) 839-7600 ext. 215
lori.davis@briloon.org

Center for Coastal Studies

Richard Delaney
President and CEO
Center for Coastal Studies
5 Holway Avenue
Provincetown, MA 02657
Phone: 508-487-3622 x111
Fax: 508-487-4495
delaney@coastalstudies.org

 

Mark Borrelli
Coastal Geologist
Center for Coastal Studies
5 Holway Avenue
Provincetown, MA 02657
Phone: 508-487-3623 x117
Fax: 508-487-4495
mborrelli@coastalstudies.org
 
City University of New York

John Waldman
Professor
Queens College
Biology Department
65-30 Kissena Boulevard
Flushing, NY 11367
Phone: (718) 997-3603
Fax: (718) 997-3445
john.waldman@qc.cuny.edu

 

College of the Atlantic

John Anderson
Associate Dean for Advanced Studies
College of the Atlantic
105 Eden Street
Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Phone: (207) 288-2944 x269
Fax: (207) 288 3780
jga@coa.edu

 

Columbia University

Steven Cohen
Executive Director, The Earth Institute
Columbia University
2910 Broadway, Office A104
New York, NY 10025
Phone: (212) 854-4445
Fax: (212) 864-4847
sc32@columbia.edu

Allison Miller
Deputy Execcutive Director, The Earth Institute
Columbia University
2910 Broadway, Office A104
New York, NY 10025
Phone: (212) 854-0772
Fax: (212) 854-0274
allisonmiller@ei.columbia.edu

Cornell University

Magdeline Laba
Senior Research Associate
1015 Bradfield Hall
Cornell University
Ithaca, NY 14853
Phone: 607-255-0841
ml49@cornell.edu

Christine Ashdown
Senior Grant and Contract Officer
Office of Sponsored Programs
373 Pine Tree Rd.
Cornell University
Ithaca, NY 14850
Phone: 607-255-5014
Fax: 607-255-5058
cma20@cornell.edu

  Christine Brown
Grant & Contract Officer
Office of Sponsored Programs
373 Pine Tree Rd.
Cornell University
Ithaca, NY 14850
Phone: 607-255-2942
Fax: 607-255-5058
cb284@cornell.edu
Harvard University

Brian Farrell
Museum of Comparative Zoology
Harvard University
26 Oxford Street
Cambridge, MA 02138
Phone: (617) 495-8571
farrellb@oeb.harvard.edu

 

Manhattan College

Kerryanne Donohue
Civil and Environmental Engineering Department
Manhattan College Leo Engineering Building Room 309
4513 Manhattan College Parkway
Riverdale, NY 10471
Phone: (718) 862-7171
kerryanne.donohue@manhattan.edu

 

Kirk Barrett
Civil and Environmental Engineering Department
Manhattan College Leo Engineering Building Room 309
4513 Manhattan College Parkway
Riverdale, NY 10471
Phone: (718) 862-7517
kirk.barrett@manhattan.edu
 
Marine Biological Laboratory

Jim Tang, Ph.D.
The Ecosystems Center
Marine Biological Laboratory
7 MBL Street
Woods Hole, MA 02543
Phone: (508) 289-7162
Fax: (508) 457-1548
jtang@mbl.edu

Rebecca Lynn
Manager of Sponsored Programs
Marine Biological Laboratory
7 MBL Street
Woods Hole, MA 02543
Phone: (508) 289-7691
FAX: (508) 289-7931
rlynn@mbl.edu

Maryland Coastal Bays Program

Roman Jesien
Maryland Coastal Bays Program
9609 Stephen Decatur Highway
Berlin, MD 21811
Phone: (410) 213-2297
Fax: (410) 213-2574
rjesien@mdcoastalbays.org

 

Narragansett Indian Tribal Historic Preservation Office

Doug Harris
Deputy Tribal Historic Preservation Officer/ Preservationist for Ceremonial Landscapes
4425-D South County Trail
Charlestown, RI 02813
Phone: (401) 474-5907
dhnithpo@gmail.com

 

Northeastern University

Dr. Geoffrey C. Trussell
Director, Marine Science Center
Northeastern University
Marine Science Center
430 Nahant Road
Nahant, MA 01908
Phone: (781) 581-7370 Ext. 300
Fax: (781) 000-0000
g.trussell@neu.ed

 

Rutgers University

Norbert P. Psuty
Director, Sandy Hook Cooperative Research Program
Institute of Marine and Coastal Sciences
Rutgers University
74 Magruder Road, Unit 3
Highlands, NJ 07732-4054
Phone: (732) 708-1462 (office)
Fax: (732) 872-1586
psuty@marine.rutgers.edu

Sheryl Goldberg
Office of Research and Sponsored Programs
Rutgers University
3 Rutgers Plaza
New Brunswick, NJ 08901
Phone: 732-932-0150 ext2212
sherylgo@grants.rutgers.edu

Michael DeLuca
Senior Assoc Director
Institute of Marine and Coastal Sciences
Rutgers University
71 Dudley Rd
New Brunswick, NJ 08901
Phone: 732-932-6555 ext 512
deluca@marine.rutgers.edu

 

Schoodic Institute at Acadia National Park

David Manski
Interim Chief Executive Officer
Schoodic Institute at Acadia National Park
PO Box 277
Winter Harbor, ME 04693
Phone: (207) 288-1349
Fax: (207) 664-4496
dmanski@schoodicinstitute.org

Phyllis Morris
Office Manager
Schoodic Institute at Acadia National Park
PO Box 277
Winter Harbor, ME 04693
Phone: (207) 288-1310
pmorris@schoodicinstitute.org

Stony Brook University

R. Lawrence Swanson
Associate Dean
School of Marine and Atmospheric Sciences
Stony Brook University
Stony Brook, NY 11794-5000
Phone: 631-632-8704
Fax: (631) 632-8064
lswanson@notes.cc.sunysb.edu

Anne DePietri
Contracts Administrator 
Research Foundation for SUNY 
Office of Sponsored Programs 
W5510 Melville Library 
Stony Brook, NY 11794-3362 
Phone: (631) 632-4702                                    
Fax: (631) 632-6963
annette.depietri@stonybrook.edu

SUNY- College of Environmental Science and Forestry

Neil H. Ringler
State University of New York
College of Environmental Science and Forestry
1 Forestry Drive, 200 Bray Hall
Syracuse, NY 13210
Phone: (315) 470-6606
Fax: (315) 470-6779
neilringler@esf.edu

Justine Gordon
Contract and Grant Specialist
Office of Sponsored Programs Services
The Research Foundation of State University of New York
35 State Street, 1st Floor
Albany, NY 12207
Phone: (518) 434.7105
Fax: (518)434.8343
Justine.Gordon@rfsuny.org

John Auwaerter
Department of Landscape Architecture
SUNY-College of Environmental Science and Forestry
1 Forestry Drive, 405 Marshall Hall
Syracuse, NY 13210
Phone: 315-470-6540
jeauwaer@esf.edu

Donald E. Artz
Campus Operations Manager
Research Foundation for the SUNY-College of Environmental Science and Forestry
24 Bray Hall
1 Forestry Drive
Syracuse, NY 13210
Phone: (315) 470.6610
deartz@esf.edu

University of Connecticut

Dr. Michael R. Willig
Distinguished Professor and Director
Center for Environmental Sciences & Engineering
University of Connecticut
3107 Horsebarn Hill Rd, U-4210
Storrs, CT 06269-4210
Phone: (860) 486-1455
Fax: (860) 486-5488
michael.willig@uconn.edu

 

Dr. Jason Vokun
Associate Professor and Interim Head
Department of Natural Resources and the Environment
University of Connecticut
1376 Storrs Road, U-4087
Storrs, CT 06269-4087
Phone: (860) 486-0141
Fax: (860) 486-5408
jason.vokoun@uconn.edu

Dr. Radenka Maric
Vice President for Research
438 Whitney Road Extension, U-1133
University of Connecticut
Storrs, CT 06269-1133
Phone: 860-486-3622
radenka.maric@uconn.edu

Dr. Chris Elphick
Associate Professor
Department of Ecology & Evolutionary Biology
University of Connecticut
75 N. Eagleville Road, U-3043
Storrs, CT 06269-3043
Phone: (860) 486-4547
Fax: (860) 486-6364
chris.elphick@uconn.edu

 

University of Maine

Ivan J. Fernandez
Professor of Soil Science and
Cooperating Professor of Forest Resources
Department of Plant, Soil & Environmental Sciences
The University of Maine
5722 Deer Hall, Room 1
Orono, ME 04469-5722
Phone: (207) 581-2932
Fax: (207) 581-2999
ivanjf@maine.edu

Michael Hastings
Director
University of Maine
Office of Research and Sponsored Programs
5703 Alumni Hall
Orono, ME 04469
Phone: (207) 581-1484
Fax: (207) 581-1300
mhastings@maine.edu

University of Maryland Center for Environmental Science

David Secor, Ph.D.
Professor
Chesapeake Biological Laboratory
University of Maryland Center for Environmental Science
P.O. Box 38
Solomons, MD 20688
Phone: (410) 326-7229
secor@umces.edu

 

University of Maryland Eastern Shore

Joseph Pitula
University of Maryland Eastern Shore
3107 Carver Hall
Department of Natural Sciences
Princess Anne, MD 21853
Phone: (410) 651-6666
jspitula@umes.edu

Catherine Bolek
Director, Sponsored Research
Sponsored Programs Department
University of Maryland Eastern Shore
Princess Anne, MD 21853
Phone: (410) 651-6714
Fax: (410) 651-6714
csbolek@mail.umes.edu

University of Massachsetts - Amherst

Eric Johnson
Director
UMASS Archaeological Services
Department of Anthropology
240 Hicks Way, Machmer Hall
University of Massachusetts
Amherst, MA 01003-9280
Phone: (413) 545-0916
Fax: 413-577-1458
ericjohnson@anthro.umass.edu

Andrew Cote
Grant & Contract Administrator
University of Massachusetts
Office of Grant & Contract Administration
Research Admin Building
70 Butterfield Terrace
Amherst, MA 01003
Phone: 413-577-1592
Fax: 413-577-1595
acote@research.umass.edu

University of Massachsetts - Boston

Jack Wiggin
Director, Urban Harbors Institute
University of Massachusetts at Boston
100 Morrissey Boulevard
Boston, MA 02125-3393
Phone: (617) 287-5570
Fax: (617) 5575
jack.wiggin@umb.edu

 

Amy Den Ouden
Department of Anthropology
University of Massachusetts at Boston
100 Morrissey Blvd.
Boston, MA 02125-5570
Phone: 617-287-6852
amy.denouden@umb.edu

 
University of New England

Barry A. Costa-Pierce, Ph.D. FAAAS
Henry L. & Grace Doherty Chair of Marine Sciences
Director, Marine Science Education and Research Center
University of New England
11 Hills Beach Road
Biddeford, ME 04005
Phone: (207) 602-2440
bcostapierce@une.edu

 

Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center Foundation, Inc.

Susan G. Barco
Research Coordinator
Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center Foundation
717 General Booth Blvd.
Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone: (757) 385-6476
sgbarco@virginiaAquarium.com