Partners

Below is a list of the primary contacts for each of our partners. The technical representatives, those who represent their respective agency/partners in the NAC-CESU, are listed on the left. Administrative representatives, those who primarily deal with cooperative agreements and any modifications to them, are listed on the right.

Federal Agency Partners: Bureau of Indian Affairs; Bureau of Ocean Energy Management, Regulation and Enforcement; Fish and Wildlife Service; National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration; National Park Service; Natural Resources Conservation Service; Office of the Deputy Under Secretary of Defense (Installations and Environment); U.S. Army Corps of Engineers; U.S. Geological Survey.

Tribal Partner: Narragansett Indian Tribal Historic Preservation Office (NITHPO) on behalf of the Narragansett Indian Tribe

Partner Institutions:: University of Rhode Island (host); Bates College; Biodiversity Research Institute; Center for Coastal Studies; City University of New York; College of the Atlantic; Columbia University; Cornell University; Coastal Bays Program; Harvard University; Manhattan College; Marine Biological Laboratory; Maryland Coastal Bays Program; Narragansett Indian Tribal Historic Preservation Office; Northeastern University; Rutgers University; Schoodic Education and Research Center Institute; Stony Brook University; SUNY, College of Environmental Science and Forestry; University of Maine, Orono; University of Maryland, Eastern Shore; University of Massachusetts, Amherst; University of Massachusetts, Boston; University of New England.

For information on partner university areas of expertise, click here


Federal Agency Partners

Technical Representatives Administrative Contacts

Bureau of Indian Affairs (Last Updated: 01/31/2014)

Rachael Novak
BIA Climate Science Coordinator
Bureau of Indian Affairs
1849 C Street, NW

Washington, DC 20240
Phone: 202-219-1652
rachael.novak@bia.gov

 

Bureau of Ocean Energy Management(Last Updated: 01/31/2014)

Mary C. Boatman, Ph.D.
Environmental Studies Chief
US Department of the Interior
Bureau of Ocean Energy Management
Office of Renewable Energy Programs
Environment Review Branch for Renewable Energy
381 Elden Street, HM 1328
Herndon, VA 20170
Phone: 703-787-1662
Fax: 703-787-1708
mary.boatman@boem.gov

 

Jennifer Ewald
Physical Oceanographer
Bureau of Ocean Energy Management
Division of Environmental Sciences
Environmental Studies Program
381 Elden Street, Mail Stop 4041
Herndon, VA 20170
Phone: 703-787-1608
Fax: 703-787-1053
Jennifer.Ewald@boem.gov
 
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration(Last Updated: 10/22/2018)

Jon Hare
Science & Research Director
NOAA Northeast Fisheries Science Center
166 Water Street
Woods Hole, MA 02543-1026
Phone: (508) 495-2000
Cell: (774) 392-3113
jon.hare@noaa.gov

James Brinkley
North Atlantic Regional Team Coordinator
NOAA Northeast Fisheries Science Center
28 Tarzwell Drive
Narragansett, RI 02882
Phone: 401-782-3250
james.brinkley@noaa.gov

 

Michael Liddel
CESU Program Manager
Acting Branch Chief
Commercial Fishery Statistics
michael.liddel@noaa.gov

National Park Service(Last Updated: 05/06/2019)

Bill Thompson
CESU Coordinator
NPS Northeast Region
University of Rhode Island, Coastal Institute, Kingston
1 Greenhouse Rd
Kingston, RI 02881
Phone: 401-874-9504
Fax: 401-874-4561
bill_thompson@nps.gov

Keith Zotti
Northeast Region Chief of Financial Assistance
National Park Service
1234 Market St.
Philadelphia, PA 19107
Phone: 215-597-9153
keith_zotti@nps.gov

Natural Resources Conservation Service(Last Updated: 10/11/2019)

Dawn Wilson
Environmental Justice Program Analyst
Outreach & Partnership Division
USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service
1400 Independence Avenue, SW, Room 6014-S
Washington, DC 20250
Phone: 240 446-2932
dawn.wilson@wdc.usda.gov

 

Office of the Assistant Secretary of Defense (Energy, Installations and Environment)(Last Updated: 10/21/2018)

Kathy Mitchell
Kathy.S.Mitchell@usace.army.mil

Lucas Walsh
Omaha District CESU
USACE, Omaha District
Section Chief, Environmental Remediation Branch
1616 Capitol Ave
Omaha, NE 68102-4901
Phone: (402) 995-2750
Fax: (402) 995-2814
Lucas.v.walsh@usace.army.mil

Alison Dalsimer
Program Manager, DoD Natural Resources
OASD (EI&E)
Natural Resources Program, Box 56
4800 Mark Center Drive, Suite 16G14
Alexandria, VA 22350
Phone: (571) 372-6893
allyn.a.dalsimer.civ@mail.mil

Stephanie Rostermundt
Omaha District CESU
USACE, Omaha District
Contracting Officer
1616 Capitol Ave
Omaha, NE 68102-4901
Phone: (402) 995-2083
Fax: (402) 221-4530
Stephanie.a.rostermundt@usace.army.mil

Ray Rainbolt
NAC-CESU DoD Regional Representative
Natural Resources Branch
4896 Nininger St., Fort Drum, NY 13602
Raymond.E.Rainbolt.civ@mail.mil
Phone: (315) 772-9636

 

US Army Corps of Engineers(Last Updated: 01/31/2014)

Alfred Cofrancesco
Technical Director, Environmental Engineering and Sciences, ERDC
US Army Corps of Engineers
Technical Director
Environmental Engineering and Sciences
CEERD-EM-W
3909 Halls Ferry Road
Vicksburg, MS 39180
Phone: 601-634-3184
Al.F.Cofrancesco@usace.army.mil

Sherry Whitaker
CESU Grants Officer Technical Representative
U.S. Army Engineering Research and Development Center
3909 Halls Ferry Road
Vicksburg, MS 39180
Phone: (601) 634-2990
sherry.l.whitaker@usace.army.mil

US Fish and Wildlife Service(Last Updated: 10/11/2019)

Scott Schwenk
Chief, Division of Natural Resources and Conservation Planning
National Wildlife Refuge System, Northeast Region
300 Westgate Center Drive
Hadley, MA 01035
Phone: 413-253-8647
william_schwenk@fws.gov

Annelee Motta
Grants Management Specialist
300 Westgate Center Drive
Hadley, MA 01035
Phone: 413-253-8290
Annelee_Motta@fws.gov

US Geological Survey(Last Updated: 01/31/2014)

Howard Ginsberg
Ecologist, USGS Patuxent Wildlife Research Center
USGS Patuxent Wildlife Research Center Coastal Field Unit
Woodward Hall PLS
Kingston, RI 02881
Phone: 401- 874-4537
hginsberg@usgs.gov

 

Tribal Partner

Technical Representatives Administrative Contacts
Narragansett Indian Tribal Historic Preservation Office (NITHPO) on behalf of the Narragansett Indian Tribe (Last Updated: 01/31/2014)

Doug Harris
Deputy Tribal Historic Preservation Officer/Preservationist for Ceremonial Landscapes
PO Box 700

Wyoming, RI 02898
Phone: 401-539-1190
Fax: 401-539-4217
dhnithpo@gmail.com

 

Partner Institutions

<

Technical Representatives Administrative Contacts
University of Rhode Island (Host University)(Last Updated: 01/31/2014)

Judith Swift
Director, Coastal Institute
124 Coastal Institute
URI Bay Campus
Narragansett, RI 02882
Phone: (401) 874-6513
Fax: (401) 874-6869
jswift@uri.edu

Winifred C. Nwangwu
Director, Sponsored Projects
Research & Economic Development
70 Lower College Road
Kingston, RI 02881
Phone: (401) 874-2775
Fax: (401) 874-4272
winny@mail.uri.edu

Bates College(Last Updated: 12/03/2018)

 

Holly Ewing
Assistant Professor of Environmental Studies
Bates College
Lewiston, ME 04240
hewing@bates.edu

 

Theresa Bishop
Acting Director, Sponsored Programs and Research Compliance
Bates College
Coram, Room 222
Lewiston, ME 04240
Phone: 207-786-8375
tbishop@bates.edu

Biodiversity Research Institute(Last Updated: 07/24/2018)

David Evers, PhD 
Executive Director
Biodiversity Research Institute
276 Canco Road
Portland, ME 04103
Phone: (207) 839-7600 ext. 221
david.evers@briloon.org
www.briloon.org

Sharon Oehmig
Billing and Budget Manager
Biodiversity Research Institute
276 Canco Road
Portland, ME 04103
Phone: (207) 839-7600 ext. 237
lori.davis@briloon.org

Lori Davis 
Finance Director
Biodiversity Research Institute
276 Canco Road
Portland, ME 04103
Phone: (207) 839-7600 ext. 215
lori.davis@briloon.org

Bryn Mawr College(Last Updated: 07/30/2019)

Thomas Mozdzer
Associate Professor of Biology
Park Science Building
101 North Merion Ave
Bryn Mawr, PA 19010
Phone: (610) 526-5098
tmozdzer@brynmawr.edu

Center for Coastal Studies(Last Updated: 05/24/2017)

Richard Delaney
President and CEO
Center for Coastal Studies
5 Holway Avenue
Provincetown, MA 02657
Phone: 508-487-3622 x111
Fax: 508-487-4495
delaney@coastalstudies.org

 

Mark Borrelli
Coastal Geologist
Center for Coastal Studies
5 Holway Avenue
Provincetown, MA 02657
Phone: 508-487-3623 x117
Fax: 508-487-4495
mborrelli@coastalstudies.org
 
City University of New York(Last Updated: 03/01/2019)
John Waldman
Professor

Queens College
Biology Department
65-30 Kissena Boulevard
Flushing, NY 11367
Phone: (718) 997-3603
Fax: (718) 997-3445
john.waldman@qc.cuny.edu

Dan McCloskey
Interim Associate Vice Chancellor for Research
Department of Psychology and Program in Developmental Neuroscience
College of Staten Island/CUNY
2800 Victory Boulevard
Staten Island, NY 10314
Phone: (718) 982-4167
daniel.mccloskey@cuny.edu

College of the Atlantic(Last Updated: 01/31/2014)

John Anderson
Associate Dean for Advanced Studies
College of the Atlantic
105 Eden Street
Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Phone: (207) 288-2944 x269
Fax: (207) 288 3780
jga@coa.edu

 

Columbia University(Last Updated: 07/30/2019)

Andrew Miller
Assistant Director, Grants Management & International Operations
Columbia University
2910 Broadway, Office
New York, NY 10025
amiller@ei.columbia.edu

Alison Miller
Deputy Execcutive Director, The Earth Institute
Columbia University
2910 Broadway, Office A104
New York, NY 10025
Phone: (212) 854-0772
Fax: (212) 854-0274
alisonmiller@ei.columbia.edu

Cornell University(Last Updated: 02/26/2019)

Magdeline Laba
Senior Research Associate
1015 Bradfield Hall
Cornell University
Ithaca, NY 14853
Phone: 607-255-0841
ml49@cornell.edu

Christine Ashdown
Senior Grant and Contract Officer
Office of Sponsored Programs
373 Pine Tree Rd.
Cornell University
Ithaca, NY 14850
Phone: 607-255-5014
Fax: 607-255-5058
cma20@cornell.edu

  Paul Reyes
Grant & Contract Officer
Office of Sponsored Programs
Cornell University
373 Pine Tree Rd
Ithaca, NY 14850-2820
Phone: 607-255-2944
Fax: 607-255-5058
per56@cornell.edu
Harvard University(Last Updated: 03/01/2019)

Brian Farrell
Museum of Comparative Zoology
Harvard University
26 Oxford Street
Cambridge, MA 02138
Phone: (617) 496-1057
bfarrell@fas.harvard.edu

 
Marine Biological Laboratory(Last Updated: 03/04/2019)

Jim Tang, Ph.D.
The Ecosystems Center
Marine Biological Laboratory
7 MBL Street
Woods Hole, MA 02543
Phone: (508) 289-7162
Fax: (508) 457-1548
jtang@mbl.edu

Peter Falco
Senior Federal Grant Accountant
Marine Biological Laboratory
7 MBL Street
Woods Hole, MA 02543
Phone: (508) 289-7252
Fax: (508) 289-7931
pfalco@mbl.edu

Diane Cook
Senior Grants and Contracts Administrator
Office of Sponsored Programs
Marine Biological Laboratory
7 MBL Street
Woods Hole, MA 02543-1015
Phone: (508) 289-7243
dcook@mbl.edu

Maryland Coastal Bays Program(Last Updated: 01/31/2014)

Roman Jesien
Maryland Coastal Bays Program
9609 Stephen Decatur Highway
Berlin, MD 21811
Phone: (410) 213-2297
Fax: (410) 213-2574
rjesien@mdcoastalbays.org

 

Narragansett Indian Tribal Historic Preservation Office(Last Updated: 01/31/2014)

Doug Harris
Deputy Tribal Historic Preservation Officer/ Preservationist for Ceremonial Landscapes
4425-D South County Trail
Charlestown, RI 02813
Phone: (401) 474-5907
dhnithpo@gmail.com

 

Natural Areas Association(Last Updated: 07/30/2019)

Lisa Smith
Executive Director
PO Box 595
Ligonier, PA 15668
Phone: (724) 493-4026
lsmith@naturalareas.org

Aimee Wills
Operations Manager
PO Box 595
Ligonier, PA 15668
awills@naturalareas.org

New Jersey Audubon(Last Updated: 07/30/2019)

David S. Mizrahi
Vice President, Research and Monitoring
Center for Research and Education
600 Rt 47
North Cape May Courthouse, NJ 08210
Phone:(609) 861-1608 ext. 917
david.mizrahi@njaudubon.org

David S. Mizrahi
Vice President, Research and Monitoring
Center for Research and Education
600 Rt 47
North Cape May Courthouse, NJ 08210
Phone:(609) 861-1608 ext. 917
david.mizrahi@njaudubon.org

Northeastern University(Last Updated: 02/14/2019)

Dr. Geoffrey C. Trussell
Director, Marine Science Center
Northeastern University
Marine Science Center
430 Nahant Road
Nahant, MA 01908
Phone: (781) 581-7370 Ext. 300
g.trussell@neu.edu

 

Rutgers University(Last Updated: 02/14/2019)

Michael DeLuca
Senior Assoc Director, Office of Research
New Jersey Agricultural Experiment Station
Rutgers University
71 Dudley Rd
New Brunswick, NJ 08901
Phone: 732-932-6555 ext 512
deluca@marine.rutgers.edu

Melissa Vinch
Research Contract / Grant Specialist
Rutgers University
33 Knightsbridge Rd
East Wing, 2nd Floor
Piscataway, NJ 08854-3925
Phone: 848-932-4026
Melissa.vinch@rutgers.edu

Schoodic Institute at Acadia National Park(Last Updated: 02/14/2019)

Don Kent
CEO / President
Schoodic Institute at Acadia National Park
PO Box 277
Winter Harbor, ME 04693
Phone: (207) 288-1349
Fax: (207) 664-4496
dkent@schoodicinstitute.org

CJ Langley
Executive Assitant to the President
Schoodic Institute at Acadia National Park
PO Box 277 Winter Harbor, ME 04693
Phone: (207) 288-1349
Fax: (207) 664-4496
cjlangley@schoodicinstitute.org

Nick Fisichelli
Director of Science and Education / Forest Ecology Director
Schoodic Institute at Acadia National Park
PO Box 277
Winter Harbor, ME 04693
Phone: (207) 288-1310
nfisichelli@schoodicinstitute.org

Stony Brook University(Last Updated: 02/14/2019)

R. Lawrence Swanson
Associate Dean
School of Marine and Atmospheric Sciences
Stony Brook University
Stony Brook, NY 11794-5000
Phone: 631-632-8704
Fax: (631) 632-8064
larry.swanson@stonybrook.edu

Mary Serra
Contracts & Clinical Trials Administrator 
The Research Foundation for SUNY 
Office of Sponsored Programs 
Stonybrook University
Melville Library Suite W5510
Stony Brook, NY 11794-3362 
Phone: (631) 632-9102                                    
mary.serra@stonybrook.edu

SUNY- College of Environmental Science and Forestry(Last Updated: 02/14/2019)

Dr. Christopher Nomura
Vice President for Research
State University of New York
College of Environmental Science and Forestry
1 Forestry Drive, 200 Bray Hall
Syracuse, NY 13210
Phone: (315) 470-6606
Fax: (315) 470-6779
ctnomura@esf.edu

Tracy Parker
Contract and Grant Administrator
Office of Sponsored Programs Services
The Research Foundation of State University of New York
35 State Street, 1st Floor
Albany, NY 12207
Phone: (518) 434.7000
Tracy.Parker@rfsuny.org

John Auwaerter
Department of Landscape Architecture
SUNY-College of Environmental Science and Forestry
1 Forestry Drive, 405 Marshall Hall
Syracuse, NY 13210
Phone: 315-470-6540
jeauwaer@esf.edu

Donald E. Artz
Assistant Vice President for Finance and Research / Foundation Campus Operations Manager 
SUNY-College of Environmental Science and Forestry
1 Forestry Drive, 24 Bray Hall
Syracuse, NY 13210
Phone: (315) 470.6610
deartz@esf.edu

University of Connecticut(Last Updated: 02/14/2019)

Dr. Michael R. Willig
Distinguished Professor and Director
Center for Environmental Sciences & Engineering
University of Connecticut
3107 Horsebarn Hill Rd, U-4210
Storrs, CT 06269-4210
Phone: (860) 486-1455
Fax: (860) 486-5488
michael.willig@uconn.edu

 

Dr. Jason Vokoun
Associate Professor and Head,
Department of Natural Resources and the Environment
University of Connecticut
1376 Storrs Road, U-4087
Storrs, CT 06269-4087
Phone: (860) 486-0141
Fax: (860) 486-5408
jason.vokoun@uconn.edu

Dr. Radenka Maric
Vice President for Research
438 Whitney Road Extension, U-1133
University of Connecticut
Storrs, CT 06269-1133
Phone: 860-486-3622
radenka.maric@uconn.edu

Dr. Chris Elphick
Associate Professor
Department of Ecology & Evolutionary Biology
University of Connecticut
75 N. Eagleville Road, U-3043
Storrs, CT 06269-3043
Phone: (860) 486-4547
Fax: (860) 486-6364
chris.elphick@uconn.edu

 

University of Maine(Last Updated: 07/30/2019)

John Dieffenbacher-Krall
Assistant Director of Research
College of natural Sciences, Forestry, and Agriculture
The University of Maine
103 Winslow Hall
Orono, ME 04469
john.dieffenbacherkrall@maine.edu

Chris Boynton
Director of Research Administration
University of Maine
Office of Research Administration
5717 Corbett Hall
Orono, ME 04469
Phone: (207) 581-1472
christopher.boynton@maine.edu

University of Maryland Center for Environmental Science(Last Updated: 02/14/2019)

David Secor, Ph.D.
Professor
Chesapeake Biological Laboratory
University of Maryland Center for Environmental Science
P.O. Box 38
Solomons, MD 20688
Phone: (410) 326-7229
secor@umces.edu

Angela Richmond
Director, Office of Research Administration and Advancement
Chesapeake Biological Laboratory
University of Maryland Center for Environmental Science
P.O. Box 775
Cambridge, MD 21613
Phone: (410) 221-2015
arichmond@umces.edu

University of Maryland Eastern Shore(Last Updated: 02/14/2019)

Joseph Pitula
University of Maryland Eastern Shore
3107 Carver Hall
Department of Natural Sciences
Princess Anne, MD 21853
Phone: (410) 651-6666
jspitula@umes.edu

Catherine Bolek
Director, Sponsored Research
Sponsored Programs Department
University of Maryland Eastern Shore
Princess Anne, MD 21853
Phone: (410) 651-6714
Fax: (410) 651-6714
csbolek@umes.edu

University of Massachsetts - Amherst(Last Updated: 07/30/2019)

Curt Griffin
Department Head
Environmental Conservation
Holdsworth Hall, Room 205
160 Holdsworth Way
Amherst, MA 01003
cgriffin@eco.umass.edu

Elizabeth Brabec
Director, Center for Heritage and Society
Design Building 349
University of Massachusetts
551 North Pleasant Street
Amherst, MA 01003-2901
Phone: (413) 545-6627
Fax: (413) 545-1772
ebrabec@larp.umass.edu

 

Theresa Girardi, CRA 
Assistant Director
University of Massachusetts
Office of Post Award Management
University of Massachsetts
100 Venture Way, Suite 201
Hadley, MA 01035-9450
Phone: 413-545-0442
twg@research.umass.edu

University of Massachsetts - Boston(Last Updated: 02/14/2019)

Kristin Uiterwyk
Acting Director, Urban Harbors Institute
University of Massachusetts at Boston
Healy Library, 11, 00029
Boston, MA 02125
Phone: (617) 287-5570
Kristin.Uiterwyk@umb.edu

Matthew Meyer
Associate Vice Provost
University of Massachusetts at Boston
100 Morrissey Blvd.
Boston, MA 02125
Phone: (617) 287-5370
Matthew.Meyer@umb.edu

Amy Den Ouden
Department of Anthropology
University of Massachusetts at Boston
100 Morrissey Blvd.
Boston, MA 02125-5570
Phone: 617-287-6852
amy.denouden@umb.edu

 
University of New England(Last Updated: 02/14/2019)

Charles Tilburg 
Director, Arthur P. Girard Marine Science Center
University of New England
Marine Science Center 207
11 Hills Beach Road
Biddeford, ME 04005
Phone: (207) 602-2422
ctilburg@une.edu

 

Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center Foundation, Inc.(Last Updated: 01/31/2014)

Susan G. Barco
Research Coordinator
Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center Foundation
717 General Booth Blvd.
Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone: (757) 385-6476
sgbarco@virginiaAquarium.com